A Year in Review

Highlights from the Ideation & Prototyping Lab

Researchers
Benjamin Seibel
Project Type
publication
Date
2019-04-30

“If you desire to see, learn how to act.” (Heinz von Foerster)

We founded the Ideation & Prototyping Lab at the beginning of 2018 upon realizing that while the digital transformation of cities is being constantly discussed, it is all too rarely actually being put into practice. Since its inception, the Lab has pursued three main goals: building up technical expertise for project implementations, offering pratical support to public bodies with their digitalization efforts, and executing our own digital projects in cooperation with diverse members of Berlin’s society. This once-small experiment has now grown into a full-fledged civic tech team made up of nine employees and a broad network of freelancers. To mark the occasion of our website relaunch, here are some of the highlights of our work thus far, as well as a preview of what’s coming up this year.

Putting open data to work

From the very beginning, open data and open infrastructures have been a huge part of our work. Technical openness is a prerequisite for true transparency as well as for a digital transformation from which all members of society can benefit. Moreover, openness lays the groundwork for agile cooperations and the rapid development of new solutions for old problems. So what can you create when these conditions are in place? Our dev team – Lead Data Scientist Sebastian Meier and Interface Designer Fabian Dinklage – has a few examples from the past year to show.

One of our first Lab projects, Kita-Suche (“Daycare Finder”), showed how data from a government body can be used to create a simple, effective, user-friendly interface – without the need to first spend a lot of money or invest years into the project. The website went online in February 2018 and remains popular with Berliners, who use its map interface, various filter functions, and built-in routing algorithms to find the best daycares for their families.

Making finding a daycare (somewhat) easier
Making finding a daycare (somewhat) easier

At the start of the official swimming season in June last year, we pubslihed our second major application, a web app that informs visitors about the water quality at public outdoor swimming spots in Berlin. This project was developed in cooperation with the State Office for Health and Social Affairs (LaGeSo), the Berlin Water Supply Company (BWB), and the Berlin Center of Competence for Water (KWB) as part of the research project “Flusshygiene”. In addition to the frontend website, this project led to the creation of a new data pipeline which ensures that the most current water quality readings from the LaGeSo are automatically updated on the website (as well as in the Berlin Open Data Portal). The application also makes use of a scientific prediction model developed by the KWB.

With more than 30,000 monthly visitors, this project was our most successful to date, and it even got us some international attention . The Federal Ministry for Education and Research liked the project so much that the project consortium received additional funding to roll out the application nationwide. One of our newest additions, Fabian Morón Zirfas, is currently working on a redevelopment of the backend to prepare the original prototype for deployments across Germany.

Current data on water quality
Current data on water quality

Open government data doesn’t just provide a foundation for new citizen services. It also presents significant potential for further analyses from which multiple actors – including the government itself – can benefit. We developed one example of this in fall of 2018 with a tool for analyzing grants awarded by the Berlin government. The tool allows users to use various filters and criteria to analyze more than 73,000 individual grants awarded in the last 10 years. The data stems from an open dataset published by Berlin’s Senate Department for Finances. This application doesn’t just lead to more transparency around how government money is being awarded – it can also hope individual boroughs (Bezirke) and government departments assess their funding strategies and identify possible trends or gaps in how grants are being awarded.

Analyzing government grants
Analyzing government grants

ODIS - Pratical open data support for the government

Building an urban open data ecosystem and developing the corresponding applications is not a purely technical endeavor. A huge part of our day-to-day work is working with Berlin’s government itself to rethink existing structures and processes and thereby lay the groundwork for more digital innovation in government. The Berlin Senate Department for Economics, Energy, and Public Enterprises (Senatsverwaltung für Wirtschaft, Energie, und Betriebe) recognized the value of this work and supported the creation of the Open Data Info-Point (Open Data Informationsstelle – or simply, ODIS), which is a digital service team that offers government departments assistance with implementing open data strategies.

Open Data in the making
Open Data in the making

Since May of 2018, ODIS has offered hands-on support to the Berlin government as they work to expand their data infrastructure and ensure more data is made available via the city’s official Open Data Portal. Our team, made up of Tori Dykes and Alexandra Kapp, is in constant contact with members of Berlin’s government, using their expertise – with a healthy dose of patience – to inform, support and consult government employees on open data through meetings, workshops and networking events. In addition to its strategic work, ODIS is also frequently focusing on open data through a thematic perspective, such as via “Data Dives” on topics like bike traffic and accessibility in the city or through visualization projects. This year we’re focusing in particular on improving the flow of geospatial data between Berlin’s different boroughts and and the central government.

Bike count data visualized
Bike count data visualized

Making digitalization accessible

Tinkering, testing, and letting practical experience guide the way: whenever our schedules permitted, we were always findinding opportunities to put the “Prototyping” in our name into practice. This started with experiments with LoRaWAN and the Internet of Things and continued with the development of new open data tools and interfaces as well as workshops on topics like speech recognition or creativity and machine learning. You’d be hard pressed to find a week where there wasn’t a new project added to our GitHub page. Apropos GitHub: the source codes for all Ideation & Prototype Lab projects are of course open source, and we’re always happy to see others re-use and adapt them.

A few other brief highlights:

„With the eyes of a machine“, our contribution to the debate around artificial intelligence and facial recognition, was well-received at Berlin’s “Long Night of the Sciences”, where our stand was met by long lines of people curious to test out facial recognition software for themselves.

Computer vision made simple
Computer vision made simple

At the „CityVis“ exhibition, we presented dozens of striking international examples of how data visualization can be used to explore and contextualize urban settings. We also premiered our own augmented reality app at the exhibition, which projects data about Berlin onto a physical city model. The app can still be used when visiting the city model in the offices of the Senate Department for Environment, Transportation and Climate Protection.

New layers atop an old city model
New layers atop an old city model

Also still accessible – and still well-used: our humble geospatial data portal, where we make some of Berlin’s most useful geospatial datasets available to download in common, easy-to-use formats.

Open data for all
Open data for all

Oh, and we can neither confirm nor deny the rumors that there might have been an Arduino-controlled cocktail robot sighted on our rooftop terrace during last summer’s Tech Open Air Festival

If all of this sounds like a lot of work, you’re right: it was! And it was only possible thanks to the exceptional team we have assembled here – a team for which I am extremely thankful. It has been and continues to be a joy to work together with so many gifted, creative, diverse and curious people. And of course, we have to thank our coworkers here at the Technologiestiftung who play a major role in helping us execute our projects, our executive board for making our lab experiment into a reality, and of course our funders, specifically the Berlin Senate Department for Economics, Energy, and Public Enterprises.

We of course have a host of new projects we’re currently working on, and there’s one in particular we’d like to highlight for the end of this piece: We thrilled that this summer we’ll be opening a CityLAB in cooperation with the Berlin Senate Chancellery and several partner organizations. The CityLAB will be an experimental lab for the city of the future and will bring together elements of a digital workshop, co-working space and an event space into a single location where participation and innovation are jointly pursued. In order to make this space a reality, we’ve recently welcomed three additional peple to our team: Nadine Riede (Events), Sara Reichert (Workshop Director) und Malgorzata Magdon (Administration). Nearly four years after we first sketched out an idea of what such a lab could look like for Berlin, we’re over the moon that the CityLAB is mere weeks away from opening, and we can’t wait to see how the project develops. Here’s to a grand new adventure!

Rückblick – Highlights aus unserem ersten Jahr

Projekte aus dem Ideation & Prototyping Lab

Projektart
Publikation
Datum
30.04.2019

“Willst Du erkennen, lerne zu handeln” (Heinz von Foerster)

Die Gründung des Ideation & Prototyping Lab erfolgte Anfang 2018 aus dem Eindruck heraus, dass der digitale Wandel von Städten zwar viel diskutiert, aber noch zu wenig praktisch gestaltet wird. Seitdem haben wir mit dem Lab das Ziel verfolgt, technische Umsetzungskompetenz aufzubauen, praxisnahe Unterstützung für öffentliche Institutionen anzubieten und eigene Digitalprojekte mit der Stadtgesellschaft zu realisieren. Aus dem kleinen Experiment ist inzwischen ein stattliches Civic Tech-Team mit neun Festangestellten und einem breiten Netz aus Freelancer*innen geworden. Anlässlich unseres Website-Relaunchs folgt ein Rückblick auf einige Highlights unserer bisherigen Arbeit – und ein Ausblick auf das, was wir als nächstes vorhaben.

Öffentliche Daten nutzen

Wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Arbeit war von Beginn an die Arbeit an und mit offenen Daten und Infrastrukturen. Technische Offenheit ist Voraussetzung für Transparenz und eine breite Teilhabe an der Digitalisierung, sie schafft aber auch die Bedingungen für agile Kooperation und die niedrigschwellige Entwicklung neuer Lösungen. Um das zu demonstrieren, hat unser Dev-Team um Lead Data Scientist Sebastian Meier und Interface Designer Fabian Dinklage im letzten Jahr verschiedene datengetriebene Web-Anwendungen und Prototypen entwickelt.

Ein erstes Beispiel, wie aus einer Datenbasis der öffentlichen Verwaltung mit vergleichsweise wenig Aufwand ein nutzerfreundliches Angebot werden kann, lieferte unsere interaktive Kita-Suche, die im Februar 2018 online ging und sich bis heute großer Beliebtheit erfreut. Mit einem Karten-Interface, diversen Filterfunktionen und einem Routing-Algorithmus bietet die Anwendung Unterstützung für Eltern bei der nicht immer leichten Suche nach einem Kitaplatz in Berlin.

Kita suchen leicht(er) gemacht
Kita suchen leicht(er) gemacht

Pünktlich zum Start der Badesaison ging dann im Juni unsere zweite größere Anwendung live: Im Rahmen des Forschungsprojekts “Flusshygiene” entstand gemeinsam mit dem Landesamt für Gesundheit und Soziales (LaGeSo), den Berliner Wasserbetrieben (BWB) und dem Kompetenzzentrum Wasser (KWB) eine App zur Wasserqualität der öffentlichen Badestellen in Berlin. Neben einem zeitgemäßen Frontend wurde auch hinter den Kulissen einiges an Arbeit geleistet – eine neu aufgesetzte Datenpipeline sorgt dafür, dass die aktuellen Daten automatisiert vom LaGeSo in die Anwendung (und gleichzeitig ins Berliner Open Data-Portal eingespeist werden, zudem wurde ein wissenschaftliches Vorhersagemodell des KWB in die Anwendung integriert.

Mit mehr als 30.000 monatlichen Besuchern wurde die Anwendung über den Sommer zu unserem bislang erfolgreichsten Projekt, das sogar international Aufsehen erregte. Das gefiel offenbar auch dem Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung so gut, dass dem Projektkonsortium einen Aufstockungsantrag bewilligt wurde, um die Anwendung bundesweit auszurollen. Unser Neuzugang Fabian Morón Zirfas arbeitet gegenwärtig an einer kompletten Neuentwicklung des Backends, um den ursprünglichen Prototypen in die Fläche zu bringen.

Aktuelle Daten zur Badewasserqualität
Aktuelle Daten zur Badewasserqualität

Offene Verwaltungsdaten können aber nicht nur zur Grundlage neuer Bürgerservices werden, sondern bergen auch großes Potenzial für weiterführende Analysen, von denen nicht zuletzt die Verwaltung selbst profitiert. Beispielhaft zeigten wir das im Herbst mit einem Tool zur Analyse der öffentlichen Zuwendungen aus dem Berliner Landeshaushalt. Mehr als 73.000 Einzelförderungen aus den letzten zehn Jahren, die vom Land über eine offene Datenbank bereitgestellt werden, lassen sich hier nach unterschiedlichen Kriterien filtern und auswerten. Das sorgt nicht nur für mehr Transparenz bei der Vergabe öffentlicher Gelder, sondern kann auch einzelnen Bezirken und Hauptverwaltungen dabei helfen, bestehende Förderstrategien zu evaluieren und Trends oder Lücken zu identifizieren.

Öffentliche Zuwendungen analysiert
Öffentliche Zuwendungen analysiert

ODIS - Praxisnaher Open Data-Support für Behörden

Der Aufbau eines urbanen Open Data-Ökosystems und die Entwicklung entsprechender Anwendungen sind aber kein rein technisches Projekt. Ein Großteil unserer täglichen Arbeit besteht darin, gemeinsam mit öffentlichen Verwaltungen bestehende Strukturen und Prozesse neu zu denken und so zu gestalten, dass Grundlagen für digitale Innovation geschaffen werden. Unterstützt von der Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Wirtschaft, Energie und Betriebe haben wir zu diesem Zweck die “Open Data Informationsstelle” (ODIS) ins Leben gerufen – ein digitales Service Team, das Behörden bei der Umsetzung von Open Data-Strategien unterstützt.

Open Data in the making
Open Data in the making

Seit Mai 2018 bietet ODIS den Berliner Verwaltungen Hands-on-Unterstützung beim Aufbau von Dateninfrastrukturen und der Bereitstellung von Daten über das offizielle Open Data-Portal des Landes. Unser Open Data-Team um Tori Dykes und Alexandra Kapp arbeitet sich seitdem mit unermüdlichem Engagement durch die Bezirks- und Hauptverwaltungen, organisiert Workshops und Netzwerkveranstaltungen, unterstützt, berät und informiert mit viel Geduld und Sachverstand. Neben der allgemeinen strategischen Arbeit setzt ODIS auch immer wieder thematische Schwerpunkte, etwa mit “Data Dives” zu Themen wie Radverkehr oder Barrierefreiheit und dazugehörigen Visualisierungsprojekten. Ein besonderer Fokus in diesem Jahr liegt auf der Verbesserung des Geodatenaustauschs zwischen Bezirks- und Hauptverwaltungen.

Offene Fahrraddaten visualisiert
Offene Fahrraddaten visualisiert

Digitalisierung praktisch werden lassen

Tüfteln, testen, sich von der Praxis leiten lassen: Wann immer es die Zeit erlaubte, haben wir die Gelegenheit genutzt, Neues auszuprobieren und dem “Protoyping” in unserem Namen gerecht zu werden. Angefangen bei Experimenten rund um LoRaWAN und dem Internet of Things, über die Entwicklung neuer Open Data-Tools und Interfaces, bis hin zu Programmier-Workshops zu Themen wie Spracherkennung oder Künstlicher Kreativität verging kaum eine Woche ohne ein neues Projekt auf unserem GitHub. A propos: Alle Quellcodes des Ideation & Prototyping Lab sind natürlich Open Source und wir freuen uns, wenn sie von anderen weitergedacht und entwickelt werden.

Ein paar weitere Highlights in aller Kürze:

Unser Beitrag „Mit den Augen der Maschine“ zur Debatte um Künstliche Intelligenz und Gesichtserkennung sorgte bei der Langen Nacht der Wissenschaften für lange Schlangen am Stand der Technologiestiftung.

Maschinelles Sehen verständlich gemacht
Maschinelles Sehen verständlich gemacht

Bei der Ausstellung „CityVis“ präsentierten wir herausragende internationale Beiträge zu urbanen Datenvisualisierungen sowie eine eigene Augmented Reality-App, die Berliner Daten auf einem physischen Stadtmodell visualisiert und die nun dauerhaft in den Räumen der Senatsverwaltung Umwelt, Verkehr und Klimaschutz am Köllnischen Park zu sehen ist.

Neue Layer auf alten Stadtmodellen
Neue Layer auf alten Stadtmodellen

Ebenfalls ein Dauerbrenner: Unser eigenes kleines Geodatenportal, auf dem wir ausgewählte offene Datensätze nutzerfreundlich aufbereitet zum Download anbieten.

Offene Daten für alle
Offene Daten für alle

Ach, und die Gerüchte um einen arduinogetriebenen Cocktailroboter, der letzten Sommer während des Tech Open Air Festivals auf unserer Dachterrasse gesichtet wurde, möchten wir an dieser Stelle weder bestätigen noch dementieren…

All das klingt zusammen nicht nur nach einer Menge Output, sondern war tatsächlich auch eine Menge Arbeit, für die ich mich an dieser Stelle bei einem hervorragenden Team bedanken kann. Es war und ist jeden Tag aufs Neue eine große Freude, mit solch begabten, kreativen, vielseitigen und neugierigen Menschen zusammenzuarbeiten. Ein großer Dank gebührt natürlich auch allen anderen Kolleg*innen der Technologiestiftung, ohne die unsere Projekte nicht möglich wären, unserem Vorstand, der das Experiment “Ideation & Prototyping” ermöglicht und unterstützt hat, sowie unseren Fördermittelgebern, insbesondere der Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Wirtschaft, Energie und Betriebe.

Natürlich stecken wir längst Hals über Kopf in neuen Projekten, und eines sei an dieser Stelle gesondert hervorgehoben: Wir freuen uns, in diesem Sommer zusammen mit der Berliner Senatskanzlei und einem großen Kreis von Partnern das CityLAB Berlin zu eröffnen – ein Experimentierlabor für die Stadt der Zukunft. Das CityLAB wird Elemente aus Digitalwerkstatt, Co-Working und Veranstaltungs­raum zu einem offenen Ort vereinen, an dem Partizipation und Innovation zusammengedacht werden können. Zur Realisierung des Betriebs dürfen wir mit Nadine Riede (Events), Sara Reichert (Werkstattleitung) und Malgorzata Magdon (Administration) drei neue Kolleginnen im Team begrüßen. Wir freuen uns, dass dieses ambitionierte Projekt fast vier Jahre nach unserem ersten Entwurf nun Wirklichkeit wird und sind gespannt und voller Vorfreude, was uns dort erwartet. Auf zu neuen Abenteuern!