Data Dive: Accessibility in Berlin

What data is available?

Researchers
Victoria Dykes
Project Type
dataset
Date
2019-02-20

A data dive is an in-depth look at a topic that is of widespread interest in Berlin from a data-centered perspective. In these pieces, we want to assess two main questions: first, what types of data are useful or even essential to forming a comprehensive understanding of this topic? Second, what is the availability of this data – i.e., is this data currently available as open data, as non-machine readable or as closed data, or is it not even known whether the data exists somewhere? These data dives serve the simultaneous purpose of making existing data resources easier to find by listing them in a single location, while also highlighting areas where there is a clear need for more and better data. Our first data dive looked at the availability of bike-related data and can be read here.

With the term accessibility (Barrierefreiheit in German), we are talking about the ability of persons with disabilities to access and participate in all areas of society. In many cases, discussing accessibility specifically means focusing on tasks and actions that non-disabled people would never think twice about, but which can be burdensome or even impossible for people with disabilities unless their needs are specifically considered and accommodated.

In the below sections, we list key datasets that would be useful for anyone who is interested in the topic of accessibility and having disabilities in Berlin. This data could be useful for people to build apps that help disabled people in their everyday lives, for example, or useful for assessing the extent to which services and institutions in Berlin are currently meeting the needs of individuals with disabilities.

If you notice information here that seems to be incorrect, or if you are aware of relevant data sources that we did not identify, please feel free to reach out to dykes@technologestiftung-berlin.de with corrections or suggested updates.

A special thanks to Jolanta Paliszewska for her research assistance with this data dive!

Public Transportation

Stations with elevators and escalators

Status: Open data available
The most reliable single resource for which stations have elevators or escalators is a dataset published by the VBB (Verkehrsverbund Berlin-Brandenburg, a transport association run by both Berlin and Brandenburg public transport providers). This dataset is a list of all station entrances in the VBB network (so it also includes stations located in Brandenburg), and it includes a column (“Bauwerkselement Name”) that notes if an entrance features an elevator (Aufzug) or an Escalator (Rolltreppe).

The BVG, who is responsible for U-Bahn stations in Berlin (as well as bus and tram stops), has a central page (only available in German) for gathering information on accessible travel with their modes of transportation. This site includes PDF flyers showing which stations are accessible, as well as a journey planner for planning routes exclusively with accessible stations. However, they themselves do not publish open data related to accessibility.

For information on which U-Bahn stations do not currently have an elevator installed but for which there are plans to do so, see this parliamentary inquiry from June 1, 2018.

Since Berlin’s S-Bahn is operated by the Deutsche Bahn, information on which stations have elevators available is contained within this dataset from the Deutsche Bahn’s open data portal. The S-Bahn Berlin website also provides an overview of what kind of infrastructure exists at which stations.

Operational status of elevators and escalators

Status: Some open data available

As any frequent user of public transportation knows, just because a station has an elevator or escalator installed doesn’t actually mean you can use them – outages due to mechanical problems or regular maintenance are common. And for individuals with limited mobility, it’s important to know ahead of time whether their usual route will work for them, or if they need to choose a new route due to outages.

The website BrokenLifts is a great resource for identifying where there are broken elevators in Berlin public transport stations. Unfortunately, the site does not have an API available, and it appears not all of their data sources are publicly available.

One open data resource is an RSS-Feed provided by the VBB, which reports broken elevators for both U-Bahn and S-Bahn stations in Berlin. It’s unclear, however, how often this data is updated and the feed does not provide information on when a given service disruption was first reported (thus it’s hard to determine how up-to-date the feed is).

For U-Bahn stations, the BVG has a website listing currently out-of-order elevators. They do not make this data available via a public API, however. The S-Bahn also shares this information on their website (which also includes escalator outages), but again, no API is made available.

Precise locations of station entrances and bus and tram stops

Status: Open data available
For individuals with limited mobility, particularly those who need to plan routes with the shortest routes and/or fewest number of steps, it can be important to know precisely where a given stop or station entrance is located (something Google Maps doesn’t always show us, for example). This data (already mentioned in the section on elevator locations) is published in Berlin’s Data Portal by the VBB. The dataset includes coordinates for every stop and station entrance in the VBB network (which includes Berlin). It also indicates where a given entrance is via a ramp or an elevator.

Information on relocated or temporarily unavailable stops and station entrances

Status: Limited non-open data available
As with elevators and escalators, it’s not necessarily enough to simply know where, under normal circumstances, you can access a given stop or station. Construction projects frequently lead to temporarily relocated stops or inaccessible station entrances, which can in turn change the accessibility of a given location. The Verkehrsinformationszentrale Berlin (Traffic Information Center Berlin) publishes an interactive map that shows where there are disruptions to the normal availability of stops and stations; there is also an HTML list of alerts available. However, no API or raw data is made available.

Guidance systems for the visually impaired in S- and U-Bahn Stations

Status: Limited non-open data available
Guidance systems for the visually impaired often involve tactile paths covered with ridges or bumps to help visually impaired persons find their way with a cane. Many public transportation stations in Berlin have a network of these paths in place, but there is no single data source for exactly what stations have such a system. The BVG does not appear to publish any information related to this for their stations, but the S-Bahn Berlin website does include information on guidance systems for the visually impaired on their overview page for all stations in Berlin. A parliamentary enquiry from May 2018 provides a list of the S-Bahn stations that do not currently have a guidance system for the visually impaired. Harder to track down is an up-to-date list of which U-Bahn stations do not currently have such a guidance system – this parliamentary enquiry from June 2013 provides the clearest listing, but presumably some of these stations have been equipped with guidance systems in the last five years.

Accessibility in Public Buildings and Spaces

Accessibility in government buildings within the Tempelhof-Schöneberg Bezirk
Accessibility in government buildings within the Tempelhof-Schöneberg Bezirk

Accessibility in city government buildings

Status: Limited non-data available
For buildings that citizens can expect to have to visit in order to access services (e.g., Bürgerämter, Finanzämter, etc.), the city’s web presence publishes location information, including whether a given building has a wheelchair-accessible entrance, contains an elevator, and/or a wheelchair-accessible bathroom. This information is simply published on each location’s individual page as pictograms (as seen for example on this page for Bürgeramt Hohenzollerndamm). The information is not otherwise published in a machine readable format. Moreover, the way the information is displayed makes it hard to get an overview of which buildings are appropriately outfitted for people with disabilities – it’s not possible to first apply a filter to see all the buildings with a wheelchair accessible entrance, for example.

Some individual Bezirke make getting this overview somewhat easier. Tempelhof-Schöneberg, for example, has a website with a list of buildings belonging to the Bezirk and whether or not these buildings are accessible for individuals with disabilities. In this view, at least users do not have to first click on each location to see how accessible it is.

Accessibility in schools

Status: Limited non-data available
The Senate Department for Education, Youth and Families maintains an online directory of schools in Berlin (“Schulverzeichnis”). It is possible to search for schools that are disabled-accessible (“Behindertengerecht”). However, this term itself doesn’t make it clear exactly what disabilities are being accommodated and what accommodations are provided. To understand this, users have to read the individual profiles for each school (and there it is generally clear that accessible schools are those with wheelchair-accessible buildings and toilets). This directory is not currently available as open data.

For the accommodation of disabilities like blindness or hearing loss in schools, this parliamentary inquiry from February 2017 offers some insight. It includes PDF tables showing whether schools have systems in place for blind students or students with hearing loss (however, the table listing whether schools have these systems available does not appear to be a complete list of all schools in a given Bezirk, so it’s unclear how exactly that table was built and how complete the data is). An additional inquiry from 2014 offers a tabular overview of the number of students with some sort of disability or special condition (like Autism) attending general public schools in the context of a Berlin-wide push to better integrate such students into the broader school system (rather than have them attend special schools targeted at students with disabilities). This data is presumably too old to be used for analyses today, though it does at least provide some insight into how many students in Berlin need accessible schools.

Accessibility in cultural institutions (museums, etc.)

Status: Limited non-data available
Berlin’s Museumsportal includes a search function for accessibility that makes it easy to locate museums that are particularly well-suited for various disabilities (i.e., not just wheelchair users). This information does not seem to be available as a dataset however. Additionally, through this portal it is possible to find guided tours that are specifically directed at wheelchair users, deaf people, blind people, as well as those with learning disabilities. Again, this information is not made available as machine-readable data.

For theaters, a parliamentary enquiry from January 2019 featured a table of the availability of wheelchair spots in various theaters across Berlin. The table includes information on how many spots are available per theater, as well as how the spots can be booked (i.e. online, via telephone, or via mail).

Public accessible parking spots

Status: Limited non-data available
On its page for mobility-limited tourists, VisitBerlin claims there are 1,300 public parking spaces reserved for people with disabilities. To locate these spaces, they direct visitors to the website MyHandicap.de. However, it appears only 766 spaces are in their database (and it’s unclear where exactly this data originates).

An answer to a parliamentary enquiry from December 2017 reported the total number of public parking spots for disabled persons. However, there are only numbers available for 7 of the 12 Bezirke; the other 5 either do not maintain these statistics or did not react to the request for information.

Public accessible toilets

Status: Limited open and non-data available
Only one Bezirk, Lichtenberg, publishes locations of public toilets as open data. This dataset includes a field for whether the toilet in question is wheelchair-accessible. On their website for visitors with disabilities, VisitBerlin links to a PDF list of locations of accessible toilets across the city. Unfortunately, this list was last updated in February 2010.

Accessible playgrounds

Status: Limited non-data available
Like many types of data in Berlin, information on where there are accessible playgrounds for children with disabilities is spread out across the different Bezirke. A parliamentary enquiry from July 2018 requested information on the availability of such playgrounds across Berlin. In most cases however, little to no useful information on accessibility is provided (for example, Mitte referred those interested in learning about accessible playgrounds are available to their “Playground Portal”, but this portal doesn’t actually allow users to filter for accessible playgrounds).

Demographic Statistics

Population of individuals with disabilities

Status: Open data available
The Amt für Statistik Berlin-Brandenburg publishes aggregate data on the number of people living with disabilities in Berlin. This information is useful if you want to understand how large a given population is (for example, if you want to make sure the number of sign language interpreters in Berlin is keeping up with the population of deaf people). There are two main relevant datasets. One is a timeseries dataset that lists the number of severely disabled (“Schwerbehinderte”) individuals living in Berlin from 1993 – 2017. This data is broken up by various categories, including the nature of the disability and age brackets. This data is not broken up by Bezirk. The second is a dataset that is published every two years as part of a statistical report on people with disabilities in Berlin. This dataset is quite detailed and includes population numbers for individual Bezirke. However, this information is only available in a machine-readable form starting in 2007.

Housing

Statistical data on accessible living spaces

Status: Limited non-open data available
There is almost no known open or closed data available for how many wheelchair-accessible apartments there are in the city. Such information would be useful for assessing whether or not the current offerings adequately meet the needs of Berliners with disabilities, or if specific Bezirke have far fewer options than others, for example. The LaGeSo has an online portal to help citizens find wheelchair-accessible apartments, but it doesn’t provide any oversight on the total number of such apartments in Berlin. There is a parliamentary enquiry from December 2015 about accessible apartments in Berlin, which includes a table of how many senior-friendly apartments there are in Berlin. Senior-friendly is defined as either wheelchair accessible or as having minimal barriers (and the statistics include both definitions mixed together), so it’s hard to say how many apartments there are that are appropriate for full-time wheelchair users.

So why does accessibility data matter?

In Berlin – like in so many cities across the globe – government officials and citizens alike are increasingly engaging with the topic of what it means to be a smart city and what a city needs to do to earn that title. Often this includes a focus on how both services and infrastructure can be planned to be more efficient and thus improve quality of life for citizens. But we can’t ignore the fact that not all citizens have the same needs. Indeed, poorly thought out smart city initiatives may not just result in certain populations being excluded from new developments (which is bad enough) – they can actually make everyday life worse for these people.

A smart city can’t truly be smart if broad segments of its population are being stranded at the city limits. Greater availability and quality of the types of data mentioned here would play a significant role toward making sure all Berliners have a chance be participate in and benefit from the future Smart City Berlin.

Further Resources

A screenshot of a website Wheelmap, which shows wheelchair accessible locations in Berlin
A screenshot of a website Wheelmap, which shows wheelchair accessible locations in Berlin

There are a few websites worth highlighting that, although they don’t all make available raw data, nevertheless provide valuable information related to accessibility in Berlin:

Broken Lifts: As mentioned at the beginning of this post, this website is an good resource for staying informed of whether the elevators in a given train station are currently working.

WheelMap: This site gathers crowdsourced information on the wheelchair-accessibility of various locations across Berlin (e.g., restaurants, museums, hotels, etc.). All of their data is stored by OpenStreetMaps and thus can be downloaded for reuse.

Mobidat: This portal also crowdsources information on accessible locations in Berlin; in contrast to WheelMap, they don’t have a specific focus on wheelchair accessibility and instead gather information relevant for a variety of disabilities (deafness, blindness, learning disabilities, etc.).

Data Dive: Barrierefreiheit in Berlin

Welchen Daten gibt es?

Projektart
Datum
20.02.2019

Ein Data Dive ist die ausführliche Analyse eines Themas aus datenzentrierter Perspektive, wobei wir uns auf Themen konzentrieren wollen, die von großem öffentlichen Interesse sind. Im Wesentlichen verfolgen wir dabei zwei Fragen: Erstens, welche Daten sind erforderlich oder nützlich, um ein umfassendes Verständnis für dieses Thema zu entwickeln? Zweitens, wie steht es um deren Verfügbarkeit – sind die Daten offen zugänglich, sind sie maschinenlesbar und letztlich: existieren sie überhaupt? So wollen wir einerseits vorhandene Ressourcen leichter auffindbar machen und andererseits zeigen, wo es einen Bedarf an mehr und besseren Datenquellen gibt. Unser erster Data Dive hat Art und Verfügbarkeit von Radverkehrsdaten analysiert und ist hier zu lesen.

Eintauchen in Daten für die Barrierefreiheit

„Barrierefreiheit“ umschreibt die Möglichkeiten von Menschen mit Behinderungen, an allen Aspekten gesellschaftlichen Lebens teilhaben zu können. Wenn wir über Barrierefreiheit reden, müssen wir insbesondere an Aufgaben und Tätigkeiten denken, die für Menschen ohne Behinderung gar kein Thema sind, die aber für Menschen mit Behinderung schwer oder gar nicht durchzuführen sind ohne spezielle Anpassungen und Hilfen.

In den folgenden Abschnitten listen wir Datensätze auf, die für eine Analyse Barrierefreiheit und des Lebens mit einer Behinderung wesentlich sind. Diese Daten wären zum Beispiel für Apps nützlich, die das Alltagsleben für Menschen mit Behinderung erleichtern oder für eine Bewertung, inwiefern Services und Institutionen in Berlin den Bedürfnissen dieser Menschen entsprechen.

Falls ihr Fehler entdeckt, Verbesserungs- oder Ergänzungsvorschläge habt oder weitere relevante Datenquellen zum Thema kennt, meldet euch gerne unter dykes@technologestiftung-berlin.de.

Einen besonderen Dank an Jolanta Paliszewska für ihre Unterstützung bei der Aufbereitung dieses Data Dive!

Öffentlicher Nahverkehr

Bahnhöfe mit Rolltreppen und Aufzügen

Status: Offene Daten verfügbar
Die zuverlässigste Quelle um zu erfahren, welche Bahnhöfe über einen Aufzug oder eine Rolltreppe verfügen, ist ein Datensatz des VBB (Verkehrsverbund Berlin-Brandenburg). Dieser Datensatz ist eine Liste aller Bahnhofs-Eingänge des VBB-Netzes (deshalb sind auch Stationen in Brandenburg inkludiert). Die Spalte „Bauwerkselement Name“ beinhaltet auch Informationen zum Vorhandensein von Rolltreppen oder Aufzügen (z.B., für die S- und U-Bahnstation Hermannstraße, gibt es u.a. das Element „Bahnsteig S-Bahn (Rolltreppe von der Hermannstraße/Silbersteinstraße)“).

Die BVG hat für ihr Verkehrsnetz eine Hauptseite zur Barrierefreiheit. Neben verschiedenen PDF-Flyern, bietet die Seite auch einen Routing-Service für barrierefreies und bedingt barrierefreies (d.h. mit Rolltreppen) Reisen an. Die BVG veröffentlicht aber keine offenen Daten zu Barrierefreiheit.

Für Informationen darüber, welche U-Bahnstationen bisher keinen Aufzug haben, aber wo bereits die Planung dafür besteht, gibt es diese kleine Anfrage vom 1. Juni 2018.

Da die S-Bahn von der Deutsche Bahn AG betrieben wird, gibt es Informationen zu Aufzügen im S-Bahn-Netz in diesem offenen Datensatz der Deutschen Bahn. Sonst bietet die Webseite der S-Bahn Berlin eine Bahnhofsübersicht, die auch Informationen über Barrierefreiheit in den Stationen liefert.

Betriebsstatus von Aufzügen und Rolltreppen

Status: Begrenzte Verfügbarkeit offener Daten
Wie alle regelmäßigen Nutzer des öffentlichen Personennahverkehrs wissen, bedeutet das Vorhandensein eines Aufzugs oder einer Rolltreppe leider nicht, dass man diese tatsächlich auch nutzen kann – Betriebsstörungen wegen mechanischer Probleme oder geplanter Wartungen kommen ständig vor. Für Menschen mit eingeschränkter Beweglichkeit ist es aber wichtig, im Voraus zu wissen, ob sie ihre normale Route nehmen können oder ob sie aufgrund von Störungen eine neue Strecke finden müssen.

Die Webseite BrokenLifts ist eine sehr gute Ressource, um herauszufinden, welche Aufzüge im öffentlichen Berliner Verkehrsnetz zurzeit gestört sind. Leider hat die Seite keine öffentliche API und nicht alle ihre Datenquellen scheinen öffentlich zu sein.

Für S-Bahnstationen bietet die Detusche Bahn die “Facilities Status” (FaSta) API an. Durch diese API ist es möglich, aktuelle Informationen zum Betriebstatus von Rolltreppen und Aufzügen innerhalb des Deutsche Bahn-Netztes abzurufen.

Für das U-Bahnnetz (sowie das S-Bahnnetz) gibt es auch einen RSS-Feed des VBB, der über Aufzugsstörungen für U- und S-Bahnstationen informiert. Der Feed liefert aber keine Informationen dazu, wann eine Störung zuerst gemeldet wurde und deshalb ist es schwierig zu sagen, wie aktuell die Informationen wirklich sind.

Für U-Bahnstationen, bietet die BVG eine Webseite mit Aufzugsstörungen an (ohne API). Für die S-Bahn gibt es auch eine Webseite, die die aktuelle Störungen zeigt.

Genaue Standorte von Bahnhofs-Eingängen und Bus- und Tramhaltestellen

Status: Offene Daten verfügbar
Für Menschen mit eingeschränkter Mobilität, die die kürzeste Route planen wollen, kann es wichtig sein zu wissen, wo genau eine Haltestelle oder der Eingang zu einer Station liegen (Informationen, die z.B. Google Maps nicht immer zeigt). Diese Daten sind im Berliner Datenportal veröffentlicht (der Datensatz wurde schon im Abschnitt über die Verfügbarkeit von Aufzügen erwähnt). Der Datensatz beinhaltet Koordinaten für alle Haltestellen und Stations-Eingänge im VBB-Netz. Hier ist auch aufgelistet, wo ein Eingang über eine Rampe oder einen Aufzug verfügt.

Informationen über verlegte oder zurzeit nicht bediente Haltestellen und Eingänge

Status: Begrenzte Verfügbarkeit nicht-offener Daten
Wie bei Rolltreppen und Aufzügen, reicht es nicht zu wissen, wo unter normalen Umständen eine Haltestelle oder ein Bahnhofs-Eingang verortet ist. Bauprojekte führen oft zu verlegten Haltestellen oder gesperrten Eingängen, und das kann die Barrierefreiheit eines Ortes negativ beeinflussen. Die Verkehrsinformationszentrale Berlin veröffentlicht eine interaktive Karte die Störungen im öffentlichen Verkehr anmerkt. Es gibt auch eine HTML-Meldungsliste. Es werden aber keine API oder rohe Daten zur Verfügung gestellt.

Blindenleitsysteme in S- und U-Bahnhöfen

Status: Begrenzte Verfügbarkeit nicht-offener Daten
Blindenleitsysteme nutzen Elemente wie Rillen und Noppen, um sehbehinderten Menschen dabei zu helfen, den richtigen Weg zu finden. Viele Stationen in Berlin verfügen über ein Blindenleitsystem, aber es gibt keinen Datensatz dazu, genau welche Stationen so ein System haben. Die BVG scheint keine spezifischen Informationen dazu zu veröffentlichen, aber die Bahnhofsübersicht-Seite der S-Bahn Berlin notiert, welche Stationen ein Blindenleitsystem haben. Eine kleine Anfrage vom Mai 2018 bietet eine Liste von allen S-Bahnhöfen, die aktuell über kein Blindenleitsystem verfügen. Schwieriger zu finden sind Informationen über den Stand in U-Bahnhöfen. Diese kleine Anfrage vom Juni 2013 hat eine Tabelle mit Informationen über U-Bahnhöfe, aber die Daten sind so alt, dass sie wahrscheinlich nicht mehr gültig sind.

Barrierefreiheit in öffentlichen Räumen

Barrierefreiheit der Dienstgebäude im Bezirk Tempelhof-Schöneberg
Barrierefreiheit der Dienstgebäude im Bezirk Tempelhof-Schöneberg

Barrierefreiheit in Verwaltungsgebäuden

Status: Begrenzte Verfügbarkeit nicht-offener Daten
Für Verwaltungsgebäude, in denen Dienstleistungen für Bürger*innen angeboten werden (z.B. Bürgerämter, Finanzämter, usw.), veröffentlicht die Stadt verschiedene Informationen zu der Barrierefreiheit des Ortes, wie die Rollstuhlgerechtigkeit des Eingangs, die Verfügbarkeit eines Aufzuges und die Verfügbarkeit von rollstuhlgerechten Toiletten. Diese Informationen werden über die Standorte-Seite des Service-Portals Berlins übermittelt (ein Beispiel ist diese Seite für das Bürgeramt Hohenzollerndamm; die relevanten Piktogramme sind auf der rechten Seite). Es gibt aber nicht die Möglichkeit, Standorte nach Barrierefreiheit zu filtern und es gibt keine rohen Daten zu Standorten und ihrer Barrierefreiheit.

Einzelne Bezirke machen es leichter, sich eine Übersicht des barrierefreien Angebots in Verwaltungsgebäuden zu verschaffen. Tempelhof-Schöneberg zum Beispiel veröffentlicht eine Webseite mit einer Liste von bezirklichen Gebäuden und ihrer Barrierefreiheit. Auch wenn es immer noch keine offenen Daten sind, ist diese Seite mindestens überschaubarer und leichter zu nutzen.

Barrierefreiheit in Schulen

Status: Begrenzte Verfügbarkeit nicht-offener Daten
Die Senatsverwaltung für Bildung, Jugend und Familie verwaltet ein online-Verzeichnis aller Schulen in Berlin. Dort ist es zwar möglich, nach behindertengerechten Schulen zu suchen, aber der Begriff bleibt zunächst unklar und man weiß nicht genau, welche Behinderungen gemeint sind. Um das zu erfahren, muss man eigentlich die einzelnen Profile der Schulen lesen (und wenn man das macht, ist es klar, dass behindertengerechte Schulen überwiegend Schulen mit rollstuhlgerechten Gebäuden und Toiletten sind). Das Schulverzeichnis ist nicht aktuell als Open Data verfügbar.

Zur Frage, welche Schulen auch für seh- oder hörbehinderte Schüler*innen geeignet sind, gibt es diese kleine Anfrage vom Februar 2017. Die Anfrage beinhaltet eine Tabelle (ab Seite 15), die zeigt, welche Schulen besondere Unterstützung für sehbehinderte oder gehörlose Schüler*innen anbieten. Es ist aber unklar, wie genau die Tabelle erfasst wurde und wie umfassend sie ist. Eine Anfrage von 2014 bietet eine tabellarische Übersicht der Anzahl von Schüler*innen mit einer Behinderung oder mit anderen besonderen Bedürfnissen (z.B., Schüler*innen mit Autismus) an, die allgemeine öffentlichen Schulen besuchen (entstanden im Rahmen eines berlinweiten Förderprogramms für mehr Inklusion in Schulen). Die Daten sind wahrscheinlich zu alt für Analysen heute, bieten aber trotzdem einen Einblick, wie viele Schüler*innen in Berlin barrierefreie Schulen brauchen.

Barrierefreiheit in Kultureinrichtungen

Status: Begrenzte Verfügbarkeit nicht-offener Daten
Berlins Museumsportal bietet eine Suchfunktion für Barrierefreiheit an, die es leicht macht, Museen mit Angeboten für bestimmte Behinderungen (nicht nur Menschen mit beschränkter Mobilität) zu finden. Durch diese Seite ist es auch möglich, Führungen für Menschen mit Behinderungen zu finden. Für beide Funktionen gibt es aber keine maschinenlesbaren Daten.

Für Theater gibt es eine kleine Anfrage vom Januar 2019, die nach dem Angebot von Rollstuhlplätzen gefragt hat. In der Antwort wurde eine Tabelle mit verschiedenen Informationen dazu veröffentlicht, zum Beispiel wie viele Plätze für Rollstuhlfahrer*innen jede Bühne hat und wie man die Plätze buchen kann.

Behindertenparkplätze im öffentlichen Raum

Status: Begrenzte Verfügbarkeit nicht-offener Daten
Auf ihrer Webseite für Touristen, die Mobilitätseinschränkungen haben, behauptet VisitBerlin, dass es ca. 1300 öffentliche Behindertenparkplätze in Berlin gibt. Um diese Plätze aber zu finden, verweist die Seite ihre Besucher an MyHandicap.de. Wenn man aber über diese Webseite nach Parkplätzen in Berlin sucht bekommt man nur 766 Ergebnisse – also, ungefähr die Hälfte des Angebots in Berlin (und die Quelle der Daten bleibt unklar).

Eine Antwort auf eine kleine Anfrage vom Dezember 2017 liefert Zahlen von Behindertenparkplätzen insgesamt, aber nur für 7 Bezirke – die anderen 5 Bezirke haben entweder keine Statistiken dazu oder einfach nicht auf die Anfrage reagiert.

Barrierefreie öffentliche Toiletten

Status: Begrenzte Verfügbarkeit offener und nicht-offener Daten
Nur ein Bezirk, Lichtenberg, veröffentlicht als Open Data die Standorte von öffentlichen Toiletten. Der Datensatz beinhaltet auch ein Feld dafür, ob der Standort auch barrierefrei ist. VisitBerlin verlinkt auch eine PDF-Liste von Standorten barrierefreier Toiletten in Berlin. Leider wurde diese Liste zuletzt im Februar 2010 aktualisiert.

Barrierefreie Spielplätze

Status: Begrenzte Verfügbarkeit nicht-offener Daten
Wie viele andere Daten, sind die Daten für barrierefreie Spielplätze in Berlin nur über die verschiedenen Bezirksämter verfügbar. Eine kleine Anfrage vom Juli 2018 hat nach Informationen zu solchen Spielplätzen gefragt, aber die meisten Bezirke haben wenige bis gar keine nützlichen Informationen dazu geliefert (zum Beispiel: in seiner Antwort hat das Bezirksamt Mitte auf sein Spielplatzportal mit Informationen zu barrierefreien Spielplätzen hingewiesen. In diesem Portal gibt es aber keine Möglichkeit, nach barrierefreien Spielplätzen zu suchen).

Demographische Statistiken

Bevölkerungsstatistiken für Menschen mit Behinderungen

Status: Offene Daten verfügbar
Das Amt für Statistik Berlin-Brandenburg veröffentlicht aggregierten Daten zu Menschen mit Behinderungen in Berlin. Es gibt zwei relevante Datensätze. Der erste ist eine Zeitreihe (1993 – 2017) für die Anzahl schwerbehinderter Menschen, die in Berlin wohnen. Die Daten sind aufgeschlüsselt nach verschiedenen Kategorien, wie Art der Behinderung und Alter der Menschen. Diese Daten sind aber nicht nach Bezirken aufgegliedert. Der zweite Datensatz wird alle zwei Jahre veröffentlicht als Teil eines statistischen Berichts. Der Datensatz ist ziemlich detailliert und beinhaltet auch Statistiken für einzelne Bezirke. Die Daten sind aber erst ab 2007 in einem maschinenlesbaren Format verfügbar.

Wohnungen

Statistische Daten zu barrierefreie Wohnungen

Status: Begrenzte Verfügbarkeit nicht-offener Daten
Wir kennen kaum offene noch geschlossene Daten zur Versorgung barrierefreier Wohnungen in Berlin. Solche Informationen wären nützlich, um zu bewerten, ob z.B. das aktuelle Angebot die Bedarfe der Menschen mit Behinderungen in Berlin erfüllt , zum Beispiel, oder ob bestimmte Bezirke hinterherhinken. Das LaGeSo bietet ein online-Portal für die Suche nach barrierefreien Wohnungen an, aber diese Webseite liefert keine Informationen zu der Gesamtzahl solcher Wohnungen in Berlin. Eine kleine Anfrage vom Dezember 2015 zu barrierefreien Wohnungen in Berlin beinhaltet eine Tabelle über “altersgerechte” Wohnungen in Berlin. Altersgerechte Wohnungen sind enteweder rollstuhlgerecht oder barrierearm. Die Tabelle unterschiedet aber nicht zwischen den zwei Kategorien, das heißt, die Tabelle *lässt* unklar, wie viele Wohnungen existierien, die für Rollstuhlfahrer geeignet sind.

Wieso sind Daten zu Barrierefreiheit so wichtig?

Die Diskussion darüber, was eine Smart City ausmacht, fokussiert sich häufig auf die Frage, wie urbane Infrastrukturen und Services effizienter gestaltet werden können, um die Lebensqualität der Bürger*innen zu erhöhen. Dabei wird oft vergessen, dass nicht alle Menschen die gleichen Bedürfnisse haben. Schlecht durchdachte Smart City-Initiativen laufen nicht nur Gefahr, die Teilhabe bestimmter Bevölkerungsgruppen zu erschweren (was für sich schon schlimm genug wäre), sondern können diese Menschen sogar vor ganz neue Probleme in ihrem Alltag stellen.

Eine Smart City kann nicht wirklich smart sein, wenn Teile der Bevölkerung an der Stadtgrenze steckenbleiben. Qualität hochwertige und gut verfügbare Daten zur Barrierefreiheit eröffnen allen Bewohner*innen die Möglichkeit an der digitalen Stadt teilzuhaben.

Weitere Ressourcen

Die Webseite Wheelmap sammelt „crowdsourced“ Informationen zur Rollstuhlgerechtigkeit verschiedener Orte in Berlin
Die Webseite Wheelmap sammelt „crowdsourced“ Informationen zur Rollstuhlgerechtigkeit verschiedener Orte in Berlin

Es gibt einige Webseiten, die selbst keine rohen Daten zur Verfügung stellen, die aber trotzdem nützliche Informationen zu Barrierefreiheit in Berlin bieten:

Broken Lifts: Wie am Anfang dieses Posts erwähnt, ist BrokenLifts eine gute Ressource für den Betriebsstatus von Aufzügen in Bahnhöfen.

WheelMap: Diese Seite sammelt „crowdsourced“ Informationen zur Rollstuhlgerechtigkeit verschiedener Orte in Berlin, wie Restaurants, Museen und Hotels. Ihre Daten sind auf OpenStreetMaps gespeichert und können dadurch heruntergeladen und weiterverwendet werden.

Mobidat: Dieses Portal sammelt auch crowdsourced Informationen für Orte in Berlin, fokussiert sich aber auf ein breiteres Publikum als bei WheelMap, denn die Webseite sammelt auch Informationen für gehörlose, sehbehinderte und anderweitig eingeschränkte Menschen.