News

New Team Member Introduction: Victoria Dykes

Victoria Dykes (@toridykes) | 14/03/2018
Hello!

I promise I will not overdo it with the gifs.

Hello all! My name is Victoria (Tori) Dykes, and I’m the newest member of the Ideation & Protoyping Lab here at the Technologiestiftung.

I’ll be helping the team increase its Open Data offerings, often with a policy-based perspective (my studies were in public policy and political science). A major part of this task will be working directly with the Berlin city administration to build a “Servicestelle Open Data” (Service Point Open Data). The goal of this body is to provide expert support to city employees in all matters Open Data, from helping them make sure their data is structured appropriately for reuse to working directly with them to develop apps and other prototypes based on Open Data. As part of this effort, we’ll also be organizing events that give city employees interested in the topic of Open Data a chance to network with each other and share experiences, as well as opportunities for them to meet members of the Open Data community outside of the city administration. Keep an eye out for these events starting in late spring.

You’ll also see posts from me talking about best practices for Open Data, tips and suggestions for how to analyze and visualize Open Data, and reports on how other cities across the world are using and promoting Open Data.

Before joining the TSB, I previously worked on the project DIGIWHIST, which used open procurement data from across Europe to build Opentender.eu. There, users can access information about what contracts governments are awarding to businesses and conduct their own analyses of this data. The project is a great example of how important and useful Open Data can be for a wide variety of people – citizens, journalists, NGOs, and even for governments themselves.

If there are data you are interested in that are not currently released by the city of Berlin (but conceivably could be), you have questions or ideas about how Open Data works in Berlin, or you otherwise would be interested to chat more about our work: please don’t hesitate to reach out to me or my team members through the communication channel of your choice! We’re always happy to chat.

Victoria Dykes

About the author

Victoria Dykes

Victoria Dykes is an Open Data researcher at the Technologiestiftung Berlin. She studied Public Policy at the Hertie School of Governance in Berlin. Her research focuses on how Open Data can be used to positively transform cities and administrations, as well as how public administrations can utilize technology and data to improve processes and provide better services.

News

Neu im Team: Tori Dykes!

Victoria Dykes (@toridykes) | 15.03.2018
Hallo!

Ich verspreche, ich werde es nicht mit den Gifs übertreiben.

Hallo zusammen! Ich bin Victoria (Tori) Dykes, und ich bin das neueste Mitglied des Ideation & Prototyping Labs bei der Technologiestiftung Berlin.

Ich werde dem Team dabei helfen, das Open Data-Angebot aus einer Policy-Perspektive zu erweitern (ich habe Public Policy und Politikwissenschaft studiert). Meine Hauptaufgabe ist es, direkt mit der Berliner Verwaltung zusammenzuarbeiten um eine "Informationsstelle Open Data" aufzubauen. Das Ziel dieser Stelle ist es, alle Mitarbeiter*innen des Landes in Bezug auf Open Data-Vorgänge zu unterstützen, von der Beratung über Datenstrukturen und Verwendbarkeit der Daten, bis hin zur Entwicklung von Apps und anderen Prototypen. Als ein Teil dieser Initiative werden wir verschiedene Veranstaltungen organisieren, um den Beschäftigten der Berliner Verwaltung die Chance zu geben, miteinander zu netzwerken, Erfahrungen auszutauschen und mit der Berliner Open Data-Community zu interagieren. Die erste Veranstaltung planen wir noch im Frühjahr und wir werden sie hier (und auch durch andere Kanäle) ankündigen.

Daneben werde ich auch Posts über Open Data-Best Practices schreiben, mich mit den Potenzialen offener Daten für Analyse und Visualisierung beschäftigen und die Open Data-Aktivitäten anderer Städte und Länder im Blick behalten.

Vor diesem Job war ich wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin beim DIGIWHIST Projekt. Mit öffentlichen Daten über das Vergabewesen in ganz Europa hat DIGIWHIST das Portal opentender.eu aufgebaut; dort können Nutzer*innen verschiedene Informationen über die von Verwaltungen erteilten Aufträge abrufen und ihre eigenen Analysen bezüglich dieser Daten durchführen. DIGIWHIST ist ein wunderschönes Beispiel dafür, wieso Open Data wichtig ist und wie diese Daten für viele unterschiedlichen Zielgruppen relevant sein können.

Wenn es Daten gibt, für die du dich interessierst und welche möglicherweise vom Land Berlin veröffentlicht werden könnten aber noch nicht zur Verfügung stehen, setz dich gerne mit mir in Kontakt. Auch wenn du Fragen oder Ideen zu Open Data in Berlin hast oder du sonst mehr über unsere Arbeit erfahren willst, sind wir immer per Mail, Twitter oder Telefon erreichbar.

Victoria Dykes

Über die Autorin

Victoria Dykes

Victoria Dykes ist wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin im Bereich Open Data bei der Technologiestiftung Berlin. Sie studierte Public Policy an der Hertie School of Governance in Berlin. Der Fokus ihrer Arbeit liegt auf der Frage, wie Open Data Städte verändern kann und wie auch Verwaltungen Technologie und Daten nutzen können, um Prozesse und Services zu verbessern.