OpenData

Berlin's spatial units

Sebastian Meier (@seb_meier) | 14/02/2018

Berlin's spatial data is being provided in various resolutions and spatial units. We have gathered the most important spatial units and transformed them into the most common formats, thereby, allowing you to use them directly for your next data analysis or visualization project. The following paragraphs will introduce those spatial units and provide an overview of their origins and meaning.

LORs

Most of the recent statistical information, for example, population density, are provided as LOR spatial units. LOR stands for "lebensweltlich orientierte Räume" or living-world oriented spaces (translated by the author). The LORs are available in three granularities (low to high): Prognoseräume (prediction areas), Bezirksregionen (district areas) and Planungsräume (planning areas). The units were derived from social units, which are also based on top of the district borders. The units are trying to respect natural or build borders, like for example, main roads or rivers. The highest resolution, the planning areas, are also paying respect to former statistical units, like, the traffic cells (see below). For statistical purposes each unit should be as homogenous as possible as well as ensure that enough people are living in each unit in order to guarantee their anonymity. More information on LORs is available here (only in German).

Traffic cells and sub traffic cells

Before the introduction of the LORs the importance of the traffic cells was far bigger. But even today there are still a few metrics which are based on the traffic cells, for example the information on funding in Berlin, is based on the traffic cells. In many cases this is due to the fact, that before the introduction of LORs, the traffic cells were used in European standardization processes and are, therefore, still being used.

Corridors and corridor pieces

While LORs and traffic cells are the most important units for statistical information in Berlin, there are a few other spatial units, which are used for very specific tasks. One such unit are the corridors and the corridor pieces. Those units are used by Berlin's governmental real estate register, in order to document who owns which piece of land and, thereby, also document the statistical land prices and building rights.

Postcodes and city parts

Two other datasets which are used quite frequently are the city parts as well as the postcode areas. Both can be easily connected to the LORs.

Roads, Buildings and blocks

The last three are rarely used for statistics these days but still represent important spatial units of the city. Roads are simply the road areas of the city. Buildings are all individual build elements in the city. Blocks are grouped buildings usually a connected group of buildings that is surrounded by streets. As the building data set is quite big, the block data set can be an interesting alternative for lower resolution data visualizations.

If you are interested and want to learn more about Berlin's spatial and statistical units, Berlin and Brandenburg's office for statistics wrote an article (only in German) with further details.

All spatial units mentioned in this overview are available for download on our data site in various formats. The original data sets can be downloaded from Berlin's FIS-Broker as WFS-sources.

Sebastian Meier

About the author

Sebastian Meier

Sebastian Meier is a data scientist at the Technologiestiftung Berlin. He graduated in Communication, Interface Design and completed his PhD in Geoinformatics at Potsdam University. His research focus lies on spatial data analytics and visualisation as well as human-centred perspectives on software interfaces.

Offene Daten

Berlins räumliche Einheiten

Sebastian Meier (@seb_meier) | 14/02/2018

Räumliche Informationen zum Land Berlin werden in verschiedenen Auflösungen und räumlichen Einheiten zur Verfügung gestellt. Wir haben die wichtigsten Einheiten für die Berliner Bürger*innen hier zusammengestellt und bereits in die gängigsten Formate umgewandelt, sodass diese gleich für Analysen und Visualisierungen genutzt werden können. Im Folgenden geben wir einen Überblick über die räumlichen Einheiten und ihre Bedeutung.

LORs

Die meisten räumlichen Informationen, wie zum Beispiel Bevölkerungsdichte, werden als LORs zur Verfügung gestellt. LOR steht für lebensweltlich orientierte Räume. Die LORs stehen in drei Granularitäten zur Verfügung (niedrig nach hoch): Prognoseräume, Bezirksregionen und Planungsräume. Die Einheiten wurden von den bereits existierenden Sozialräumen abgeleitet, welche in Ihrer gröbsten Auflösung von den Berliner Bezirksgrenzen abgeleitet werden. Die räumlichen Einheiten versuchen natürliche und gebaute Grenzen, wie beispielsweise große Straßen und Flüsse, zu berücksichtigen. In ihrer höchsten Auflösung sind die Einheiten darüber hinaus an alten statistischen Einheiten angelehnt, wie z.B. den Verkehrszellen (siehe unten). Aus statistischer Perspektive sollen die Einheiten möglichst homogen sein und gleichzeitig sicherstellen, dass genug Menschen in jedem Block leben, um deren Anonymität zu gewährleisten. Weitere Informationen zu den LORs finden Sie hier.

Verkehrszellen und Teilverkehrszellen

Die Verkehrszellen waren vor der Einführung der LORs von größerer Bedeutung. Aber auch heute noch gibt es vereinzelte Informationen die für diese räumlichen Einheiten erhoben werden, hierzu zählen beispielsweise die Daten für Zuwendungen und Förderungen im Land Berlin. Dies hat häufig damit zu tun, dass die Verkehrszellen vor Einführung der LORs schon in europäischen Standardisierungsprozessen etabliert wurden.

Flure und Flurstücke

Neben den LORs und Verkehrszellen, welche die wichtigsten räumlichen Einheiten für statistische Daten sind, gibt es weitere Einheiten für spezielle Verwendungszecke. Eine solche Einheit sind die Flure und Flurstücke. Diese werden vom Berliner Liegenschaftskataster genutzt um zu dokumentieren wem welches Stück Land in Berlin gehört. Darüber hinaus wird auf derselben räumlichen Einheit auch dokumentiert wieviel ein Flurstück statistisch Wert ist und was dort gebaut werden darf.

Postleitzahlen und Ortsteile

Ebenfalls häufig von Interesse sind die Postleitzahlregionen und die Ortsteile. Während sich die Ortsteile gut mit den LORs in Verbindung setzen lassen, sind die Postleitzahlgebiete die Sonderlinge unter den räumlichen Einheiten.

Straßen, Gebäude und Blöcke

Die letzten drei Einheiten werden nur selben zu statistischen Zwecken genutzt, sind jedoch trotzdem wichtige räumliche Einheiten für das Land Berlin. Zum einen sind dies die Straßenflächen der Stadt und zum anderen die einzelnen Gebäude der Stadt. Blöcke sind Zusammenschlüsse von Gebäuden die in der Regel von mehreren Straßen umgrenzt werden.

Wer mehr erfahren möchte, das Amt für Statistik Berlin Brandenburg hat 2012 einen kleinen Bericht zu den verschiedenen räumlichen und statistischen Einheiten geschrieben.

Alle in dieser Übersicht aufgeführten Datensätzen finden Sie auf unserer Datenseite in vielen gängigen Formaten direkt zum Herunterladen. Darüber hinaus finden Sie die Daten natürlich auch im Berliner FIS-Broker als WFS-Downloads.

Sebastian Meier

Über den Autor

Sebastian Meier

Sebastian Meier ist Data Scientist bei der Technologiestiftung Berlin. Er studierte Kommunikations- und Interface-Design und hat im Bereich der Geoinformatik promoviert. Der Fokus von Sebastians Arbeit liegt auf der Analyse und Visualisierung räumlicher Daten, sowie menschzentrierter Perspektiven bei der Entwicklung von Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstellen.