OpenData

Berlin's Kitas

Sebastian Meier (@seb_meier) | 05/02/2018

179.678 Children
between the age of 1 and 6 years

About 180.000 children between the age of 1 and 6 years are living in the city of Berlin (State: Dezember 2016). More than 2.500 Kitas (childcare/daycare) are serving those in need, spread throughout the city of Berlin.

Even though, some districts have a little more children per 50 inhabitants than the average district (e.g. Pankow and Lichtenberg), most districts show a similar pattern. Due to higher population density and district size, districts like Pankow and Mitte need to support a larger number of children than their neighbouring districts.

Number of children per 50 inhabitantsNumber of children per district

Icon für Kind  equals about 453 children between the age of 1 and 6 years

The senate administration for education, youth and family is already providing their citizens with access to information on all of Berlin's Kitas through a search engine. The Ideation & Prototyping lab is continuously exploring novel user-friendly interfaces in order to enable citizens to explore their cities data vaults. As a result, we build a map-based search interface, which allows citizens to find their local Kita.

Kita-Suche Berlin
Project on Github kita-explorer
Visit Project on GitHub
Sebastian Meier

About the author

Sebastian Meier

Sebastian Meier is a data scientist at the Technologiestiftung Berlin. He graduated in Communication and Interface Design and is currently finishing his PhD in Geoinformatics at Potsdam University. His research focus lies on spatial data analytics and visualisation as well as human-centred perspectives on software interfaces.

Offene Daten

Berliner Kitas

Sebastian Meier (@seb_meier) | 05/02/2018

179.678 Kinder
im Alter zwischen 1 und 6 Jahren

In Berlin leben knapp 180.000 Kinder im Kita-Alter zwischen 1 und 6 Jahren (Stand: Dezember 2016). Demgegenüber stehen mehr als 2.500 Kitas die im gesamten Land Berlin verteilt sind.

Auch wenn bei der Anzahl Kita-Kinder pro 50 Einwohner einige Bezirke leicht über dem Durschnitt liegen (z.B. Pankow und Lichtenberg), zeichnet sich eine gleichmäßige Verteilung über Berlin hinweg ab. Durch die Größe und Einwohnerdichte der Bezirke bedingt, müssen die Bezirke Mitte und Pankow wesentlich mehr Kinder mit Kitaplätzen versorgen als Ihre benachbarten Bezirke.

Anzahl Kinder pro 50 Einwohner*innenAnzahl Kinder im Bezirk

Icon für Kind  entspricht ca. 453 Kindern im Alter von 1 bis 6 Jahren

Die Senatsverwaltung für Bildung, Jugend und Familie bietet den Berliner Bürger*innen Informationen zu den Berliner Kitas bereits durch eine Suchmaske über Berlin.de an. Im Sinne der Exploration moderner Möglichkeiten der nutzerfreundlichen Informationsaufbereitung hat das Ideation & Protoyping Lab sich mit den Kita-Daten des Landes Berlin beschäftigt. Das Ergebnis ist eine Kartenanwendung, welche es Benutzer*innen erlaubt die passende Kita in Ihrer Nähe zu finden.

Kita-Suche Berlin
Project on Github kita-explorer
Projekt auf GitHub
Sebastian Meier

Über den Autor

Sebastian Meier

Sebastian Meier ist Data Scientist bei der Technologiestiftung Berlin. Er studierte Kommunikations- und Interface-Design und schließt aktuell seinen Doktor im Bereich der Geoinformatik an der Uni Potsdam ab. Der Fokus von Sebastians Arbeit liegt auf der Analyse und Visualisierung räumlicher Daten, sowie menschzentrierter Perspektiven bei der Entwicklung von Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstellen.