News

H3LL0 W0RLD!

Benjamin Seibel (@bnjmnsbl) | 01/2018
Huhu!

Hi, we're new!

Hey there, and welcome to the Ideation and Prototyping Lab! We are part of the Technology Foundation Berlin. As a non-profit foundation, we work at the intersection of technology & urban planning to design Berlin's future.

An important part of our work at the Technology Foundation is to research how new technologies influence urban life. Over the last years, we realized that more often than not you have to put your theories into practice to really understand what is going on. That is why we created this lab.

Currently, our main focus is on the analysis and visualisation of public data. Together with the Senate of Berlin, we are retrieving the data treasures of our public administration to make them open and usable for everyone. In these efforts, we can build on some of our succesful projects at the Technology Foundation, such as our broadband data visualisation and our Minecraft planning project. If you like to learn more about Open Data in Berlin, have a look at our research.

Dit is Berlin

Dit is Berlin, as Berliners like to say

What's more we are building an open LoRa-Network for a free Internet of Things, we are experimenting with sensors, hardware prototyping and materials from our Hacking Box or host workshops on the digital transformation of the public sphere.

By the way, all our projects are open source and free to be used, changed and developed further. If you prefer reading code over words, have a look at our GitHub

If you like to know more about our work, get in touch! You can reach us by mail, twitter or even by good old phone :). We are also doing regular meetups, conference, workshops and open labs – you will read about it here or next door at our mothership technologiestiftung-berlin.de.

Benjamin Seibel

About the author

Benjamin Seibel

Ben is Director of our Ideation & Prototyping Lab. Before, he took care of Open Data Projects at the Technology Foundation Berlin. He did his Ph.D. in Darmstadt & Harvard on the early history of E-government and worked as a journalist and curator in New York City, Nicosia and Rotterdam. Twitter: @bnjmnsbl

News

H3LL0 W0RLD!

Benjamin Seibel (@bnjmnsbl) | 01/2018
Huhu!

Hallo, wir sind neu!

Hallo und herzlich Willkommen beim Ideation & Prototyping Lab! Wir sind ein Teil der Technologiestiftung Berlin. Als gemeinnützige Einrichtung arbeiten wir an der Schnittstelle von Digitalisierung und Stadtentwicklung daran, die Zukunft Berlins zu gestalten.

Eine wesentliche Aufgabe der Technologiestiftung ist es, die Bedeutung technologischer Innovationen für die Stadtgesellschaft zu untersuchen. Im Laufe der letzten Jahre haben wir gemerkt, dass sich viele dieser Entwicklungen nur aus der Praxis heraus wirklich verstehen lassen. Um mit neuen technischen Möglichkeiten zu experimentieren, haben wir diesen Bereich ins Leben gerufen.

Ein aktueller Schwerpunkt unserer Arbeit ist die Aufbereitung, Analyse und Visualisierung öffentlicher Daten. Zusammen mit der Berliner Senatsverwaltung wollen wir die in den Behörden schlummernden Datenschätze bergen und für alle nutzbar zu machen. Damit knüpfen wir an erfolgreiche Technologiestiftungs-Projekte an, etwa an die Visualisierungen zum Berliner Breitbandausbau oder an unser Minecraft-Partizipationsprojekt. Mehr Informationen rund um das Thema Open Data findet ihr auch in unseren Studien.

Dit is Berlin

Dit is Berlin

Daneben engagieren wir uns für den Aufbau des Berliner LoRaWAN-Netzes für ein freies Internet of Things, bauen Prototypen mit den Materialien aus unserer Hacking Box oder organisieren Workshops zum digitalen Wandel in Berlin.

Alle unsere Projekte sind übrigens Open Source und können ohne Einschränkungen genutzt, verändert und weiterentwickelt werden. Wer statt Worten lieber Code lesen möchte, kann gerne einen Blick in unseren GitHub werfen.

Wenn ihr euch für unsere Arbeit interessiert oder Fragen habt, nehmt gerne Kontakt auf. Ihr erreicht uns per Mail, Twitter oder oft auch ganz altmodisch per Telefon. Wir veranstalten auch regelmäßig Meetups, Konferenzen, Workshops oder Open Labs – Infos dazu findet ihr zukünftig hier sowie auf unserem Mutterschiff technologiestiftung-berlin.de.

Benjamin Seibel

Über den Autor

Benjamin Seibel

Benjamin leitet das Ideation & Prototyping Lab und betreute zuvor bei der Technologiestiftung Berlin Open Data-Projekte. Er promovierte in Darmstadt und Harvard zur Mediengeschichte des E-Government und arbeitete als Journalist und Kurator u.a. in New York, Nicosia und Rotterdam. Twitter: @bnjmnsbl